Skip to content

Mark Anthony Mulligan

April 8, 2010

Today I will share with you a recent photo of Mr. Herbert Freeman working on a new piece in front of  The Harp And Celt on Magnolia Ave. in the heart of downtown Orlando.

Herbert Freeman

Mark Anthony Mulligan is from Louisville, Kentucky.  He has been off and on homeless for the last twenty years.  He creates vibrant urban landscapes that have wound up in many prominent private collections.  His work is also featured in the permanent collections of the New Orleans Museum of Art  as well as the Kentucky Folk Art Museum.

Mark Anthony Mulligan (photo by James Calvert)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Andy permalink
    December 18, 2010 1:09 am

    I have always been a fan of Mark Anthony, true Louisville Folk Artist. I used to know him when he painted the pics you have above. Later in life, after he quit painting, and I had been overseas for a couple years he was selling a book, “(the) internalized coping…calm & settled….through roughage….evil winds, etc” He published it in may 2006, but i have the only copy. The cost was 102.00 a copy, but after I paid him that amount he said the book was mine…the only other copy I had was burned on a CD, which i lost. This is a 19 page book that Mark Anthony Mulligan wrote on 12″ x 18″ paper and is 18 pages long..email me and I will give you details.

  2. James Calvert permalink
    March 25, 2011 11:54 am

    Greetings,
    I took the photo of Mark that appears in this post. I appreciate the work you are doing for homeless artists- keep up the good work. If you do use this photo, I would appreciate if you gave Mark a $10 or a $20 next time you see him. When I have sold the image, half of the money goes to Mark or his family.
    Thanks

  3. Bob Breedlove permalink
    July 28, 2011 8:03 pm

    James Calvert, I live in the highlands and would maybe be interested in purchasing that image. Please email me with how much you could sell it to me for. Thanks. giancana_sam@hotmail.com

  4. November 1, 2012 5:01 pm

    CAn someone contact me on this artists work. I’d like to speak directly to the artist if I could.
    he does great works.

Leave a Reply

